Discovering Donna


The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch

Posted in Uncategorized by Donna on September 25, 2008

I finished this book last night. It was very heart warming and sad at the same time. I cried I don’t know how many times reading this book. I haven’t read the lecture itself, but I want to. I would encourage anyone to read this. I could go on and on about it but I’m just going to share two passages from the book. How telling they are about this man.

Page 79-“Brick walls are there for a reason. They give us a chance to show how badly we want something.”

Page 193-“I’m aware that Chloe may have no memory of me at all. She’s too young. But I want her to grow up knowing that I was the first man ever to fall in love with her. I’d always thought the father/daughter thing was overstated. But I can tell you, it’s real. Sometimes she looks at me and I just become a puddle.”

There are so many more that I’d love to share. The times he spent with his nephew and niece when they were young, before he married and had children of his own. How he hopes that his niece and nephew will do the same with his kids that he did with them. How he hopes that his lecture and this book will be a legacy for his children. You get a real sense how just how much that this man loved his life, his family, friends and his job.

Pick up a copy and read it. Better yet, buy one. If you ever only buy one book in your life…This is the one you need to get!

Leave a Reply

