Discovering Donna


So I’ve been thinking……

Posted in Moving by Donna on October 29, 2008

I’m counting down the days until we can start our road trip. I’m trying to look at it as an adventure, but at the same time…well it’s hard to put into words. You see it will be 5 years November 3rd that I moved to Louisiana from Alabama. It was a very different move compared to what I am going through now.

Before I had just a handful of close friends. Relatives that are well up in the aging process. My father had passed away a little over 8 months before and I was basically in the world, as an orphan. But then I moved here and it all changed.

Now I have more friends that I am close with and realatives that some are up in the aging process but others aren’t. I have a wonderful “mother and pappy” and have acquired a sister and a brother and a brother in law and a sister in law, a nephew and a niece that is on her way! We all picked up a sweet set of grandparents in Papa D and Momma Lou. Athough Pappy D is no longer with us. I’ve gotten married and married into a totally wonderful family, that I wish I could see more often. And now I’m going to get that wish.

But at the same time, I am moving away from this family. It’s hard for me. I think last time it wasn’t so hard because I did what I had to do. I knew what I had to do for me. Now it’s harder. It’s not just me anymore. I have to do what’s best for the family. Dirk really isn’t all that happy here, I can tell. He’s been itching to get out to the west coast since the beginning of the month.

Well, time has passed and that time is almost here. It’s sort of crazy. But that the same time, I have to rationalize that this might just be what we need. This might be that way to kick start my trying to decrease my weight (dieting is a nasty word yuck). I want to start running, maybe now I can do it. I want to get out and see things, this will be my way to do it. I want to get into a part of my work industry that will make me happy. I know making that transition will do it.

I am determined to make this work on so many levels. Not just because I have everyone telling me “you’ll be back before the beginning of the year”. Well not everyone has said that but a good majority have. No, I am determined because it’s time to get out there and live and do things and not just exist. It’s time to find me, whoever I am. So stay tuned. It’s going to be an intresting ride!!!

I am debating on setting up another blog on this. I can’t make up my mind. I want to document my 101 as well as everything else. I sort of want one just for the list and then one for just the journey. I haven’t worked out yet what I’m going to do or how I’m going to do it, but as soon as I do, I’ll be sure to post it.

One Response to 'So I’ve been thinking……'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'So I’ve been thinking……'.

  1. JIMNSTEPH said,

    I completely understand what you are going through. I moved to AL to be with Jim and left everyone and everything I knew. Now we are here and he has done the same for me. What I can say about both experiences is that it takes about a year to get adjusted and really start to feel at home. In the meantime we will all always be here for you. Thank God for the internet right?!


Leave a Reply

