Discovering Donna


Habits

Posted in changes,Thoughts by Donna on November 15, 2008
Tags: ,

Isn’t it interesting how things change? How things become a habit? How habits are broken? I was thinking about this while I was fixing the coffee this morning.  When we lived in LA before there was no routine, no schedule, no habits really, none that were really important.

Now having a routine is something that sort of keeps me sane.  It’s not a down to the minute routine, but all the same it’s the same thing each day and it sort of keeps me sane at the moment.  With all the construction on going, we’re up by 8.  Well today was an exception.  I slept till right at 8 and Dirk slept till right at 9.  But I have a routine now, and it’s habit.  If I don’t follow it, I feel out of whack.  Get up, make the coffee, read for a few minutes, check the email.  Make a cup of coffee, check the blogs.  Man, I need a job. LOL.  After Dirk gets up, the bed gets made.  Time to start the day with whatever it will bring our way.  Change is a constant here, I don’t think two days have ever been the same.  But that’s a good thing, right?  Do you the same thing enough it becomes a habit.

But do you really have to wait 30 days before it becomes a habit?  Can it become a habit ingrained in you enough that you will stick to it?  What do you think about it?

Leave a Reply

