Discovering Donna


Yes Donna, there is a sleep fairy~

Posted in Life by Donna on November 18, 2008
Tags:

O sleep, O gentle sleep,
Nature’s soft nurse, how have I frighted thee,
That thou no more wilt weigh my eyelids down
And steep my sense in forgetfulness?
~William Shakespeare, Henry IV, Part I

So I’ve started trying to analyze what the heck I’m feeling.  But then last night, or well this morning, it sort of came to me.

I’m not sleeping.

Yep.  Not sleeping.  For a while now.  To be exact, my sleep pattern has been getting smaller and smaller since the day after we got here.  I was exhausted on the road, even before we got on the road.  Let me tell you, it’s hard to pack up a house, get everything ready for a move and then make a treck of 1625 miles.  So while we were on the road, I slept like a baby.  Even the first night that we got here, I slept.  Really good.  Why?  Because I was exhausted.

And now?

It’s different.  Oh yeah, it’s different.  I noticed that it started out as me being awake at 7 am.  That is normally like 9 back in Louisiana.  But then it got to where, instead of going to be at 9ish or 10ish, it began to drift to 10ish, 11ish, midnightish, even later.  But I was still waking up at 7.  Then the past few days it’s been 2 or 3 in the morning before I could sleep and then I was waking up before 6.  The latest I would sleep is 7:30.

Last night was the worst.  I couldn’t sleep at all.  I floated from the bed to the couch and back again.  Many, many times.  Then I gave up.  I went and turned on the TV and watch No Country for Old Men.  Then I came to the computer and wrote about 8 pages on my fan fic that I’m writing.

Then it turned 4 am!!!  Finally, sleep was creeping in and wanting to overtake me.  Knowing I needed to be up at 7:30 to go with Judy for Mother’s Club.  But I couldn’t fight it.  Sleep was finally deciding the grace me with it’s lovely presence.  So I missed going to Mother’s Club because holy cow, I slept till 8 am.  And then it was like my brain turned on and here I am again.  I tried resting on the couch to no avail.

Now, why don’t you just take something you ask?  Well let me tell you this.  Ambien, Stress X, Calm spirit, the over the counter meds, they just aren’t working.  I even took the over the counter stuff this morning hoping to go back to sleep.  Nope, sorry.

It’s like if there is light, my brain can’t shut off.  So here I am.  This I believe is one of the basic roots of my adriftness.  My sleep anchor has deserted me.  So all I have to say is this~

Sleep Fairy, I know you are out there.  Help a sister out!

I mean am I forgetting to leave you something?  A cookie perhaps?  IDK, what do you think???

4 Responses to 'Yes Donna, there is a sleep fairy~'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Yes Donna, there is a sleep fairy~'.

  1. Café Chick said,

    If the sleep fairy arrives, please direct her to my place in New Zealand. I didn’t sleep at all last night, and my overnight activities sound remarkably similar to yours. I finally went back to bed around 5am and lay there for a while. I must have drifted off, because by the time my alarm went off at 7.30am I was exhausted, and lay there for another hour. Now I’m supposed to be working and cannot concentrate on anything, which is why I’m commenting on blogs instead … oh Sleep Fairy, where are you??

  2. Donna said,

    I will definately send her your way! If you should see her first, tell her I’m in line after you!

  3. Finn said,

    Are you stressed (other than packing up your whole life and moving cross country)? Does your mind race when you try to sleep.

    I find a bath, some Sleepytime Tea and a good fantasy to focus on helps me sleep with little problem.

    Hope the fairy finds you soon!

  4. Donna said,

    I think I’m beyond stressed right now. My mind won’t shut up and leave me alone to sleep. I think I’m really stressed about my lack of a job right now. But I have taken a walk and a warm bath today and the tea is calling my name as we speak. 🙂


Leave a Reply

