Discovering Donna


NaBlPoMo

Posted in Holidays by Donna on November 30, 2008
Tags: , ,

Well, I held out on doing it so for long but then I decided, what the heck.  So when I was looking for things for my second 101 list, I decided to go for it.  When I whittled down my list, I kept it.  So here we are.  Tomorrow starts my run for the month of December for National Blog Posting Month.  You can find the website at http://nablopomo.ning.com/ Check it out some time.

With all that’s going on, I feel like maybe I’m bottling somethings up and even sugar coating some.  I can feel myself slipping into what I feel like is a severe case of home sickness as the holidays are now here.  But tomorrow I start my new job and I’m hoping things will get better from there.

We’re going to handmake Christmas gifts this year and I’m kind of excited on the prospect.  I miss the baking and cooking part of being in Louisiana.  You know it’s around this time of the holidays that Mom would always bake all her goodies and Christmas Candies.

I can’t tell you how much I miss that and the prospect of being there to swipe some of the yummy peanut butter fudge that she makes.  I mean don’t get me wrong that isn’t the only thing I miss.  I miss the difficulty of trying to shop for Pappy.  It’s always hard to think of something to get for him, but at the same time, it’s fun.  You can always do something fun for him.  Like the time I asked him what he wanted for Christmas and he said a Mercedes Convertible.  So I got him one.  And it’s sitting on the TV at their house now LOL.  Yeah so I got him a hot wheels one but hey he didn’t specify if it was one for him to drive.

And seeing everyone.  That’s something else I am going to miss.  How many times since last Christmas was everyone able to be together?  Not many.  Lori and Eric and their family live in Austin, Daniel works out of town and is gone most of the time.  It’s just hard.  But I’m losing my train of thought.  And I don’t want to be depressed anymore than I am.  So anyways, back to my original point.

You know I love comments and I think I’m going to need all the support I can get on this one.  Can you imagine blogging EVERY DAY this month?  It’s going to be a challenge, but who knows, maybe after this one, it will get easier and I can do the challenge again.

Oh well, we’ll see huh??

6 Responses to 'NaBlPoMo'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'NaBlPoMo'.

  1. Maureen said,

    Yes, I can imagine blogging every day. I did it in October for a meme called Blogtoberfest. It was fun but I never did get to read as much as I’d have liked to. That requires two lifetimes.

    Make it a fun thing, not a chore and it becomes easier. Post for YOU!

  2. Julia said,

    California is a different animal but I think you will start to enjoy it here. I am doing NaBloPoMo for December too (just finishing November) and it does reinforce good blog posting habits.

  3. Holly said,

    Hi There! I saw the fleur-di-lis and had to visit! I’m sorry you’re home sick for Louisiana — we’ve been here 5 years (which is as long as I’ve lived anywhere, being from a military background) and can’t imagine living anywhere else in the U.S.

    Sending you support for daily December blogging all the way from NOLA…!

  4. Amanda said,

    “So when I was looking for things for my second 101 list, I decided to go for”

    You and I are opposites – I started the 101 list because I found out about it through NaBloPoMo.

    And your second! Congrats!

  5. Donna said,

    Thank you! I’ve found some wonderful sites thanks to the 101 list!

  6. Donna said,

    Thanks Holly! It’s a trip that is for sure. I’ve been told it takes about a year to adjust. I’m holding out that it won’t take that long!


Leave a Reply

