Discovering Donna


What Had Happened Wuz

Posted in Life,NaBlPoMO,Thoughts by Donna on December 13, 2008
Tags: , ,

Wow- I go away for a little over a week and OMG look at the changes.  Guess I should explain my absence and sorry to those that we haven’t had a chance to call yet.  After a switch over from one internet company to another and I won’t name names we were out of the internet for a few days.  So, I haven’t really had much of a chance to blog.  Work was so busy that even lunch time was spent doing something and it wasn’t internet related so I was stuck.  Guess I’ll just have to pick up from here and try to finish out the month blogging and try for yet another month.  I WILL finish a NaBloPoMO before I finish my list!!!!  

But on the the REAL reason I’ve been gone so long.  Last Friday night, not last night, we had a lovely family dinner and then headed off to watch my little brother’s band concert.  On the way back to our car, I had a little accident.  Well maybe not Little.  More like huge!  You see, where we parked was a 2 foot curve.  And I stepped off of it, intending to get into the car on the driver’s side back seat.  Well, I didn’t make it that far.   

    When I stepped off the curve on my left foot, it twisted and I went down and then my right twisted and followed suit.  Well, twisted isn’t the word.  Paramedics, Fire and a ton of morphine and a trip to the ER later, we discovered that not only was my left ankle dislocated but it was also broken in two spots.  My right ankle was severely sprained.  So Saturday I had surgery to have to plates and a few screws put in my left ankle.  I was informed by the doctor and here’s where it really hurts folks…..

I am off work for 2 weeks (after just completing my 1st week on the job) but on the 19th, I have to go back and have the “soft” cast removed, the staples taken out and a hard cast put on from 2-4 weeks.  The ankle won’t be healed for at least 6 months completely.  YIKES.  I’ve got more I can post on this believe me.  I’ve got more than enough to write about.  But for the mean time, all of this leads up to something.

 

My I’m thankful for.  I am thankful for the Sierra Madre Paramedics and Fire and Rescue department for their quick response.  My surgeon said if they hadn’t gotten there so quick and splinted up my ankle that I would not be so fortunate and would have had to have the big screw put in my leg to take out and possibly some tendon damage.  But they were quick and they responded and splinted me.  So I’m thankful for all of them.

However I am PISSED because City Hall doesn’t support having full time paramedics.  WTF are they thinking?  So My fellow readers, here is where I need you.  I feel like they need the support in front of City Hall and my family is all for backing them given my incident.  But how to go about doing that is another matter.  So have you got any suggestions for me?  Leave me a comment or email me.  But for now, I’m off to check on stuff and see what I’ve missed for the last week and a half.  Hope everyone is well.

4 Responses to 'What Had Happened Wuz'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'What Had Happened Wuz'.

  1. Dave said,

    Hi there I had a similair accident and having surgery Monday. I am pretty nervous and don’t know what to excpect but I hope the pain gets better because this really sucks! Feel free to write and vent I am not doing much layed up here at home,Dave.

  2. Donna said,

    Well, get ready. The pain sucks and is nothing like anything I’ve ever experienced. There wasn’t enough pain meds in the world for me the first few days. I’m just now getting to where I can be up for more than a few minutes at a time. Make sure you get a shower chair, a walker and crutches!!! the shower chair will save your life!

  3. Cafe Chick said,

    OMG – I thought you’d been quiet for a while! Poor you … I can sympathise. I had surgery on my ankle after a fall 4 1/2 years ago. It’s still coming right …
    The hard cast is much better than the one you have on now, as you will be able to have a shower and get it wet, as well as be a bit more mobile. Then there’s the splint once the cast comes off … oh gosh, it’s all coming back to me! *hugs*

  4. Donna said,

    OH NO~ Not another splint~~~~!!!! I kept thinking after this soft cast comes off I’ll never have to see another one of those again! LOL


Leave a Reply

