Discovering Donna


My Newest Obsession

Posted in Books by Donna on December 20, 2008
Tags: ,

Well, as most everyone in my life knows, I’ve fallen in love with the Twilight Series by Stephanie Meyers. I like the ideas of her taking the vampires and putting them in the “now” with different circumstances. I’ve never really been a true fan of the cliched vampires. Let’s face it, I’ve never been able to make it through all the Anne Rice Novels. And I’m discovering that I like the more modern day writings. I am mostly a romance fan and I did start out reading historical romances but more and more over the past fews years, I’ve discovered that I cringe when I hear someone mention one or even suggest it. The only exception is the Masters of Time series by Brenda Joyce. But if you look it it, it’s modern day women and the old Highland Warriors. So it’s not all historical. But I digress.

I was looking at something Twilight related (yes I’m getting to the point of this) and it mentioned that if you like Twilight you might want to take a look at the HBO Series True Blood. At the time we had Time Warner and the ON Demand Feature. So I looked and fished around and there it was. The entire season up to the newest episode of True Blood. So I started watching. And. I. Was. Hooked.

For those who don’t know anything about it, let me give you a brief summary. Sookie Stackhouse is a telepathic barmaid from Bon Temps, LA. She had a boyfriend Bill Compton who is a vampire. Now they are out of the coffin and trying to mainstream. Yeah, my description doesn’t do it justice but I don’t want to spoil anything. So on to my point. While watching the little featurettes on True Blood, I discovered it was based on a book series by author Charlaine Harris. So I started getting the books and reading them.

It’s not a bad series. It’s funny, entertaining and there is almost no sex scenes which is different. As you will discover I am an Eric fan. I don’t like Bill, I never have and Quinn is just a cat with a bad attitude. Granted some of the explanations are a little redundant. I mean I’ve read 6 books now and in almost everyone there has been a description of how Elvis, I mean Bubba was brought over. She does this alot and I don’t think she needs to. But then again I’m not writing the series am I? I’ve worked my way though all the books and have had some favorites and not so favorites. Along with Eric, I’ve discovered I’m a fan of Chow, and I was pissed when the Witch Wars went down. I won’t spoil anything for you, but that’s all I’m saying on that.

It’s a great way to pass the time while you are laid up for two or more weeks like I have been. Both the series and the books. I’m getting more into the books, but I keep finding that as in most things, what I think the characters should look like are nothing like when it comes to the big screen. But hey, I’ve been the TV version of Eric and I’m not knocking it, not by far. I even think that Anna Paquin is a great Sookie Stackhouse. She had me hooked the first time she spoke.

So what about you? What is your newest obsession??

One Response to 'My Newest Obsession'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'My Newest Obsession'.


  1. I don’t know if I’d say “newest” obsession, but since the New Kids have come back I’ve been into them pretty hard core… lol. I was into them before, but now it’s a completely different beast… haha!

    True Blood is a GREAT show… haven’t read the books, but I may end up doing it… when it comes to books, I really like historical fiction and non-fiction, sci-fi, and horror. Not really into romances, though I do read a bit of Nora Roberts and Nicholas Sparks… but yeah. That’s where I stand on books. 🙂


Leave a Reply

