Discovering Donna


Days Like This

Posted in Holidays,Life,NaBlPoMO by Donna on December 24, 2008
Tags:

Now, don’t get me wrong.  It’s Christmas and I’m excited.

But.  And that’s a big word right now.

I am sitting at my desk in our little apartment listening to The Bishops Wife playing in the background.  You know, the one with Carey Grant?  My hubby is off working on the float for the Rose Parade and I’m enjoying the silence.  But at the same time, I’m not happy with it.  I talked to Mom this afternoon, right before I started writing this actually.  And we both had the same thought.  We both wish I was there right now.  The holiday’s aren’t really the time.  We both thought that we could be playing one of our favorite games right now, you know  Boggle, phase 10, yahtzee, pictionary, scrabble.  Something to pass the time on Christmas Eve in the bosom of family.  Instead the whole holiday is topsy turvy.  Hardly anyone is going to be at mom’s this year.  Well I take that back.  Lori, Eric, Corban, Dirk and I won’t be there.  And it’s different.  I had grand aspirations to make Christmas gifts this year, to send out cards, to do so much.  Instead, I’m home, doing nothing.  With a broke ankle.

And don’t get me wrong.  I’m thankful.  Thankful I’m alive, thankful to have a roof over my head, clothes on my back, food to eat.  I’m thankful for so much.

But I’m not at mom’s with the heat blaring.  Pappy wearing his red coat wondering if we are going to play the game that’s quiet.  Sleeping over on Christmas Eve so we can get up early and open presents and then cook dinner.

Instead, I’m 1600 miles away, with the heat going, a good book, a good movie playing and my foot propped up where ever I go.  Christmas will probably be low key and quiet.  I asked Dirk not to get me anything this year.  Instead I want to really celebrate my birthday.  Because the cast just kind of hampers me and my spirits right now.

So here’s to better days and getting excited because it’s that time of the year.  There is no reason I should be bah humbuging it.

Because after all, it’s not about what we have, what we get, who we are with, who we are missing.  It’s about a baby that was born in a manager who was the Savior to us all.

Funny how priorites get turned around and we lose meaning of things like this.  It is too commercialized.

Days like this………..

One Response to 'Days Like This'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Days Like This'.


  1. Aw, I feel your pain. 🙂

    Christmas isn’t Christmas for me without certain things that make it Christmas, like cleaning up all the wrapping paper, or getting picture taken of you when you’re less than ready… or watching my mom fall asleep in the chair because she got up too early… and it’s hard to get pass the fact that not all of those will happen when you aren’t with family.

    But you’re right, it is about the little baby born in the manger, and Christmas is Christmas even without those things. It’s not the same, but it’s Christmas. I wish you the best of Holiday wishes, and hope your Christmas goes well. *hugs*

    Oh, and a speedy recovery for the ankle! 🙂


Leave a Reply

