Discovering Donna


Christmas and Jars

Posted in Books,NaBlPoMO by Donna on December 26, 2008
Tags: ,

So yesterday was Christmas. I received some lovely gifts from Santa and the Pinney House Elves.  A beautiful gray shirt, a pair of PJ’s, and a stocking full of goodies.   Yesterday afternoon was the Christmas Party and Secret Santa. The person’s whose name I pulled was not feeling good so I didn’t get to see his face when he opened his gift, but I hope that he likes it just the same.

My name was pulled by Kathleen whom I had met one time this past Thanksgiving. She’s a beautiful and wonderful lady. Just from the snippets of conversation at Thanksgiving she put together such a beautiful gift for me. In my bag, I had this wonderful brown sugar and vanilla lotion, a book and this beautiful green shawl. I’m excited to be able to go back to work and wear it. It’s one of those shades that goes with gray, black or white.

I read the book last night. She explained that she had never read it but was told it was a really good story. I was curious when I read the inside jacket and last night, after the hubby got tired of Humphrey Bogart, (who can do that????) and changed the channel on me, I laid down to read and prop my overly swollen foot up.

Now, without giving away all the book, let me tell you the basic story of it. It’s about a jar that a couple started on their first year married. A couple of weeks before Christmas their first year, they set all of their spare change at night in a jar. They agreed that they would only use this money for Christmas. It only being a couple of weeks before, the amount was small, but they made due and got each other some meaningful gifts. Each year they started earlier and earlier and eventually it got to where they would start on Dec. 26th. Can you imagine how nice a Christmas that was? But eventually they had a family. And the oldest child one year gave the jar to a lady on the street who looked down and out and in need of the money. After first getting upset because their Christmas money was gone, they decided they wouldn’t do it differently had they been given a second chance. So this started a tradition of saving the money and giving it to some random person in need.

Now I’m not giving away anymore, but it’s a sweet and wonderful story and sort of inspiring. And it gave me an idea for next years gifts. So with that being said, I’m off to get up and starting writing down these plans.

I hope you had a wonderful Christmas.

Leave a Reply

