Discovering Donna


Saturday Morning Soapbox

Posted in Life by Donna on January 3, 2009
Tags: ,

First, I’m saying thanks to Jennifer at Nenni’s World because she sort of inspired this.  I think since I’m going to try to be more positive and upbeat, I’m going to start Saturday as my soapbox day.  The post where I can rant and rave about stuff and just do it one day a week.  We’ll see how that goes.

Today’s soapbox issue is all the F’ing commercials for Weight Loss stuff.  I’ve noticed lately, TV or the world or whoever determines what commercials run on our TV are pushing 2 things.  The lap band and Nutrisystem.  I want to look at these two and give my rants on them.

First, we have the lap band.  Great Idea if you are willing to undergo surgery twice.  I admit I’ve thought about it, but it’s not for me.  I know that.  I need to apply my willpower and do it.  That’s all there is to it, but I digress.  Why run every other commercial about the lap band?? Seems to me the Great One in charge of programming is saying if your fat then get  the lap band and you’ll be fine.  Ok, well what you’re not taking into consideration is the fact that a ton of health companies don’t cover it and most overly fluffy folks can’t afford it if their insurance doesn’t carry it.  What I wouldn’t give for a benefactor that could afford it.  I know some others might feel that way too.

Next we have the whole dieting group issue such as your Nutrisystem, Weight Watchers, etc.  It’s great to advertise but can you use real people.  Chris Berman, Dan Marino, Jillian whatever her last name is, Marie Osmand.  What about me?  What about anyone else who wants to lose weight.  Why not sign a “real” person to a contract, give them a personal trainer and/or chef and let them lose weight and be the spokesperson?  I wouldn’t mind working for Weight Watchers.  Wouldn’t it prove that it can be done?

Just a thought.

What do you think?????

5 Responses to 'Saturday Morning Soapbox'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Saturday Morning Soapbox'.

  1. Cafe Chick said,

    Alas, being New Year, advertisers think they will snare more victims who are already feeling bad about themselves and want to ‘make it better’ this year. Do it in your own way and time and ignore the advertising – you can’t achieve success on someone else’s terms.

  2. Donna said,

    So true. Just irk’s me that they do this sort of stuff. Ya know?

  3. Jenni said,

    Ah, preying on the weak ones. It’s amazing how many people fall for these ads…no, it’s SAD how many people fall for these ads.

    I have seen people go through these surgeries, get healthy, and gain all that weight back.

    And yes, it would be nice to see some “everyday” people in the ads.


  4. They advertise NuetraSystem, or some sort of weight loss gimmick one commercial, and McDonalds the next…..sure sends mixed signals.

  5. Donna said,

    doesn’t it? I think it’s totally ludacris what they are doing. And it gets on my nerves.


Leave a Reply

