Discovering Donna


Bono

Posted in Books by Donna on February 12, 2009
Tags:

This is the latest book that I’ve read.  It’s called Bono in Conversation with Michka Assays.  Assays is a music reporter who has been friends with the band since back in the day.  Before they were the Mega Group they are.  Before Bono was the man that he is today.  I found this book at the library and it caught my eye.  It’s a different type of memoirs.  It’s Bono in his own words.  Now I’ll admit, I’ve been a U2 fan since back in Junior high, yeah that dates me right there huh?  But they weren’t a favorite group.  With all the press that Bono’s gotten lately, I thought it would be interesting to see what he had to say.

I didn’t think it would be possible to say that I’m an even bigger fan of his now than I was.  His mindset is amazing and everything that he overcame is amazing.  I don’t think I could put everything into words at this point.  I just want to point out a couple of things from the book that really made me go huh.

Page 95 Assayas asked the question “How do you find your way through the darkness?  I guess, just like anyone, you stumble from time to time.  Bono replies with a simple “I try to make the light brighter” He was asked to give an example and he relates a story that Harry Belafonte once told him regarding Bobby Kennedy and Dr. King.  I won’t go into the whole story but at the end, Bono simply says “He knew there must be something positive.  And if it was there, somebody could find it.

Where there is a will there is a way right?

Then he really get’s me and I know this is so minor but it’s a snagging point for me.  Assayas is asking him his favorite song in various genres.  They get to favorite religious song and Bono’s response is “Amazing Grace”.

And lastly, at the end of the conversation he’s asked if there is anything that has been revealed to him for the first time in all their conversations.  Bono pondered it and replied with what is a great quote, “A life unquestioned is not one you should envy.”

There are so many great stories.  From Bono about his childhood after his mother passed to the beginnings of the band.  It’s just a really great book about a really great person.  I’m glad I read it.

Bono

Leave a Reply

