Discovering Donna


Because….

Posted in Believe,Life by Donna on March 31, 2009
Tags:

So Finn touched on sort of this subject yesterday here. Let me just say if you haven’t read it, do it! She has such a way with words.  And she sort of has a different take on this.

When I was growing up, I wanted to be a cardiologist. My reasoning was simple, I wanted to be a heart doctor because I wanted to find out what it was that caused my father’s heart to be bad. I wanted to figure out how to fix it. I was dead set on this from 4th Grade to 12th Grade. I got a little encouragement from my dad but that was mostly it. Then let’s keep it real here,  I couldn’t deal with the sight of blood.  So I decided that I would do something “safe”.

I would become a teacher. Well, that lasted for about a year in college. I had the idea after that of majoring in Criminal Justice. Then life set in and I had to stop school, take care of dad and get a job. I flitted around with various things and then he passed. So, I moved to Louisiana. I got a job in insurance, which I had a little experience. And I gained a whole lot of experience.

I got a designation in my field and want to get a couple of more. I got my license too. So here I am in a field that is so not what I would have thought I would ever be in. But I am. I was okay with the agency side of life, working directly with the customers and working with the companies. But I had a longing to work on the company side. To be in underwriting. I would have never had that opportunity had I not moved to Ca. But, I applied for the company side and the job that I wanted to start with, it came through yesterday.

Granted it’s not in the ocean marine side of the board, it’s not in the inland marine side, but it’s with moving and trucking companies, something I am very familiar with. So all is not lost. It’s underwriting and I’m excited about that. It’s the chance to have that career that I wanted and be a big girl.

I know it’s nothing like what I had dreamed of when I was little but then again what ever is? Had we had enough money, had I had more encouragement, had I had {insert what else I could have had}  maybe it would have been different. Now, it is what it is.

I can have regrets all day long but when it comes down to it, I’m not wasting my time anymore on regrets. I’m done with them. My life is too short.

Because I am doing what I want to do. Because I can do what I want to do. Because I refuse to spend a moment longer on what could have been if it had been different. Because I am taking a stand for myself.



3 Responses to 'Because….'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Because….'.

  1. Finn said,

    Congratulations! I’m glad you’re getting what you want. Me, I’m working on it.

  2. Cafe Chick said,

    Congratulations! That is fantastic news. I still don’t know what I want to do when I grow up; maybe I’ll just never grow up? Always I ever wanted was to be a teacher. I taught for ten years, have spent all of my life in education (it still has an incredible pull for me), but now might be the time to something else … whatever that is.
    When do you start?

  3. Donna said,

    I start on Monday and am so excited about it! I’ll have to do a post about it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

