Discovering Donna


I Got a Job!!!!

Posted in Life by Donna on April 1, 2009
Tags: ,

And I think it’s got to be the best one EVER!!!!!!  Ok-so I’m not crazy that I have to take the metrolink every day and have a 2 hour commute each day but that’s life.  Hey, it will help me with my goal of being in bed by 10 and well I think getting up at 5 is really going to help being up by 7 LOL.  So let me give you a little run down of all the goodies…..

I work 8 hour days in a kick ass secure building with an hour for lunch.  I’m off work by 4:30 in the afternoon and every other Friday I get half a day off!!!  The pay is good.  It can and will certainly get better!  They reimburse for my metrolink every two weeks so I’m not out the money it will cost for me to get to work.  If I ever drive, my parking is paid too!!!  I get 12 holiday days a year off.  I get 10 vacation days from day 1 for the first 4 years, it increases from there.  I get 5 personal days.

401 K is awesome, I’m really suprised at how much they kick in!  Dental, vision, health are all mine as of DAY 1!!!!  Yep that’s right.  And let me say it’s a great plan with the Health Savings Account, and it’s a PPO.  Cuz incase you didn’t know, I’m looking at the possibility of the lap band surgery and PPO’s here will pay for it.  There are all kinds of incentives for going back to school and getting more designations.  They pay for classes, they pay you when you get the designation, they pay you when you pass the course and they increase your pay!  There is so much more, but I’m not going to go into it.

On the other side, I’m working on the pink team, which is the all girl team, and I’ll be the Underwriters Assistant.  Yay!!!  It’s going to be great!  So I start on Monday and it’s going to be fun.

Like Katy said, “no wonder you didn’t go back after you broke your ankle, this job was waiting.”

The Universe responds amazingly….

6 Responses to 'I Got a Job!!!!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'I Got a Job!!!!'.

  1. Cafe Chick said,

    Congratulations – I am so happy for you! The universe has a funny way of keeping quiet when it’s planning something for us, no matter how desperately we may want answers before then. 😉 All the best with your job. Keep us posted!

  2. Finn said,

    That is amazing. Congratulations and best of luck!

  3. Cindy said,

    Donna, I am so happy for you that you have found a job with GREAT benefits. It’s gotten worse here at my office. You know I was forced to go part time in December and yesterday my boss told me I should probably start looking for another job, which I’ve already been doing. I’ve sent out 5 resumes this week alone. I’ve been trying!!! Sounds like I might have to move to CA to find a job!!!! lol

  4. LarryLily said,

    Congrats on the job and especially the benies.

    I work for the Feds as I was tired of the every six month threat of job loss. And I see where you are wanting the lapband.

    Me, I just last week got the whole enchilada, the reoux-en-y gastric bypass. Including the week prior to surgery 7 day liquid diet and now 10 days after the actually surgery, I have lost 35 pounds. My wife is going in monday for hers. Together we should make it easier to adjust to 1/3 cup then 1/2 cup meals. Honestly, the first week, had to force myself to eat.

    Good luck

  5. Donna said,

    All I can say is come on!!! 🙂

  6. Donna said,

    Larry-That is amazing! I have to say congrats on the weight loss! I thought about the bypass but wasn’t sure….Just the thought of the staples is something that gets me. Keep me updated on your progress though!!!


Leave a Reply

