Discovering Donna


What’s Up With This?

Posted in Soap Box by Donna on May 15, 2009
Tags:

Ok- I’m stepping up on my soapbox for just a little bit. Today’s children is our subject.

Now my daddy and grandmother raised me right. They taught me to say Yes Ma’am/Sir or No Ma’am/Sir when responding to people who were my elders. Yes I use that word and yes I am from the south. Damn proud of it right now too.

Today’s youth and I can name a couple in particular you ask questions and their responses are “yeah, Yeah.” WTF is up with that?? Where has the respect gone? Butting their noses in where they don’t belong on personal matters, feeling like they can get away with murder. I mean seriously, what happened to those good natured children that their parents were/may have been? Did they drop the ball or does today’s youth just not care.

Maybe it’s because I’m on the West Coast and it’s not the same here. I dunno. But every time I hear someone younger than me not say Yes Ma’am/Sir or No Ma’am/Sir when they should, I want to throttle them.

Does anyone else feel the same??? Or is it just me?

3 Responses to 'What’s Up With This?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'What’s Up With This?'.

  1. Jennifer said,

    Being from California (born, raised, and still live) we don’t learn to say yes maam/sir; however, the better of us do learn respect for authority and that includes those older than us. However, I think it’s a sad time that we live in because children AREN’T being taught to repsect authority (no less each other). Adults make excuses for their behaviors rather than forcing the children to be held accountable for their actions.

    I see it all day long and, as a preschool teacher who spends 9 hours of a day with many of these children, I see it all too often. What? I should take on the responsibility to teach these children some respect? You are abolutely correct; but my hands get tied when I have a parent in my office telling me that I am a horrible person because I demand respect and responsibility out of her child…afterall, “he’s only 4, he can’t put his toys away after he dumps them everywhere and it’s not fair that he can’t go outside with everyone else and is stuck inside” taking responsibility for his action of dumping said toys!!!

    I’m with you on this one. It starts in the early years (0-5 years) and it’s downhill from there anymore. No one takes responsibility for their actions, we sue over rediculous things (like coffee being too hot), and the children who are taught these values of respect and responsibility…well, they have the last laugh because those are the people that I see have the most potential as employees and tend to be the ones who move up the ladder very quickly while those others are left in low level positions, whining about not being appreciated, and calling in sick at least once a week, asking to get off early, and not being much more than a warm body while they are there (texting and taking personal phone calls all day long).

    Okay, sorry, your soapbox got me started on mine…

  2. LarryLily said,

    I am a Yankee blue NYC yep get a rope guy. But I have spent the last 33 years in Oklahoma and now Texas. My kids, were mainly raised in Oklahoma and like their parents (my first wife, their mom, was from Boston) learned respect but not the southern yes mam or sir.

    I went to work for a Midland based small oil company out of their OKC office, and the first time my boss called me at work, I answered with my usual greeting. “Lilly” (My last name in Italian.)

    He stammered, then said, who taught you how to answer the phone. I told him my dad. That was the end of that question, while he didnt like it, he respected fatherhood, and left it be.

    So I suspect that you are kind of like him. But as long as the respect is there, roll with it.

  3. Donna said,

    I’m all about the respect. But the way the “yeah” comes off- to me, it’s disrespectful. Maybe it’s just me.

    Jenn-I totally agree with you.

    I guess that it just totally throws me off to hear kids talk and act like they do. I knew there was a sort of generation gap between say me and those of my grandparents age but the generation gap between us and the teens of today seems like such a huge gap- kind of like between here and Mars.


Leave a Reply

